Skip to product information
1 of 7

Mirror Sound hardcover book

Mirror Sound hardcover book

Regular price $35.00 USD
Regular price $40.00 USD Sale price $35.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Mirror Sound is a look into the people and processes behind self-recorded music, co-created by Spencer Tweedy and Lawrence Azerrad with photography by Daniel Topete and published by Prestel in 2019.

Mirror Sound features contributions from some of the world’s most accomplished self-recording musicians including Blake Mills, Bobb Bruno, Bradford Cox, Cautious Clay, Dan Deacon, Eleanor Friedberger, Emitt Rhodes, Frankie Cosmos, Jay Som, Jim O’Rourke, Jonathan Rado, Juan Wauters, Juana Molina, Mac DeMarco, Matt Rendon, NNAMDÏ, Open Mike Eagle, Phil Elverum, R.A.P. Ferreira, Sadie Dupuis, Sam Evian, Sharon Van Etten, Suzanne Ciani, Tune-Yards, Ty Segall, Vagabon, Yuka Honda, and a foreword by Carrie Brownstein.

The book is a humane glimpse at what it’s like to be a musician who records and produces their own records—why they choose to work that way, what it affords them, and how it affects their music. Songs and albums that are made by self-recording musicians have a special, cohesive sound—a sound that can only be achieved when an artist marries their creativity with their tools, their head with their heart. Mirror Sound celebrates and reveals the special sound of self-recording.

Dimensions: 9.5 x 0.67 x 11.75 inches, hardcover
Page count: 192 pages

View full details